Our training, maintenance and hazard reduction activities keep skills fresh, teamwork cohesive and equipment always ready.

Because of work and family commitments we don’t expect every member to attend every event. We all give our time according to whatever we can.

Training and equipment maintenance sessions rehearse the drills necessary for safe, effective fire-fighting and build familiarity with our gear. We also provide assistance for community events such as the Six Foot Track Marathon and the Woodford to Glenbrook Classic.

The brigade conducts drills and skills evenings on Tuesdays and holds regular training sessions and maintenance on alternating Sunday afternoons, providing options to suit members’ family and work commitments.

This regularly updated Activity Log provides an insight into the activities of your local brigade.

training and maintenance activities

Brigade Operations, Training and Maintenance

Sat Nov 5, 2016 - Hazard reduction – Megalong

Sat Nov 5, 2016 - Recruit training – Bush Firefighter course

Fri Nov 4, 2016 - Standby at station – Llandilo fire deployment.

Thu Nov 3, 2016 - Hazard Reduction – Megalong

Sun Oct 30, 2016 - Recruit training – Bush Firefighter Course

Sat Oct 29, 2016 - Recruit training – Bush Firefighter Course

Fri Oct 28, 2016 - Maintenance Night – Checking tanker and equipment readiness

Thu Oct 27, 2016 - Incident Call – Fire at Mitchell’s Pass

Fri Oct 21, 2016 - Wingello Hazard Reduction – Southern Highlands

Fri Oct 21, 2016 - General Meeting

Tue Oct 18, 2016 - Stretcher out of injured motorcyclist – Warrimoo

Sun Oct 16, 2016 - Training – interrupted by fire call to Faulconbridge. Called off before arrival.

Sat Oct 15, 2016 - Open Day – Mt Riverview Fire Station

Tue Oct 4, 2016 - Training – Hazardous materials briefing

Sun Oct 2, 2016 - Incident Call – to assist with search for missing man at Leura

Fri Sep 30, 2016 - Maintenance Night – checking tanker and equipment readiness

Sun Sep 18, 2016 - Training – Bush Fire Season Readiness session

Sat Sep 10, 2016 - Community engagement participation at Blaxland East Public School Fete

Tue Sep 6, 2016 - Training – Hydraulics. Working with hoses and pumps

Fri Aug 26, 2016 - Maintenance Night – checking tanker and equipment readiness

Sun Aug 21, 2016 - Training – Fire extinguisher refresher session

Fri Aug 19, 2016 - General meeting

Sun Aug 14, 2016 - Training – Specialised team training for chainsaw operators

Sun Aug 14, 2016 - MountainsCare Car Boot Sale – Saturday, August 5

The MountainsCare operation of Blue Mountains City Church will be holding a Car Boot Sale on Saturday, August 5, in front of the church at 172 Rusden Road, Mt Riverview.

The fun starts at 8am and there will be market stalls, a sausage sizzle, new and second-hand bargains and a jumping castle. Mt Riverview Rural Fire Brigade will also be on hand. Our contribution will include a tanker display, but more importantly we’ll be putting our focus on pets.

So what are your plans for your pets in the event of a bush fire? Come along and have the discussion with us. Better still, bring your dog, meet some of the neighbourhood’s other pooches and at 11am take part in our novelty dog how.Thanks to Wentworth Falls Animal Hospital for donating prizes.

See more event details at https://bmcitychurch.churchcenteronline.com/registrations/events/73006

Sun Aug 14, 2016 - Fire Duty – Cox’s River

Sun Aug 14, 2016 - Fire Duty – Blackheath

Sun Aug 14, 2016 - Training