Our training, maintenance and hazard reduction activities keep skills fresh, teamwork cohesive and equipment always ready.

Because of work and family commitments we don’t expect every member to attend every event. We all give our time according to whatever we can.

Training and equipment maintenance sessions rehearse the drills necessary for safe, effective fire-fighting and build familiarity with our gear. We also provide assistance for community events such as the Six Foot Track Marathon and the Woodford to Glenbrook Classic.

The brigade conducts drills and skills evenings on Tuesdays and holds regular training sessions and maintenance on alternating Sunday afternoons, providing options to suit members’ family and work commitments.

This regularly updated Activity Log provides an insight into the activities of your local brigade.

training and maintenance activities

Brigade Operations, Training and Maintenance

Sat Sep 8, 2018 - East Blaxland Public School Fete – Community Engagement

Sat Sep 8, 2018 - Basic Firefighter Assessment – 4 Recruits Passed

Sun Aug 19, 2018 - Brigade Training

Sat Aug 18, 2018 - Crew to Coffs Harbour for Fire Fighting – 5 day commitment

Fri Aug 17, 2018 - General Meeting

Sun Aug 12, 2018 - Vietnam Veterans’ Day Springwood – Assistance

Fri Jul 27, 2018 - Equipment Maintenance Night

Fri Jul 20, 2018 - General Meeting

Sun Jul 8, 2018 - Basic Training – Refresher

Fri Jun 22, 2018 - Equipment Maintenance Night

Tue Jun 19, 2018 - Fire Call – Tree alight, bush behind Nichols Parade

Sun Jun 17, 2018 - Brigade Training

Fri Jun 15, 2018 - Annual General Meeting

Wed May 30, 2018 - Panorama Hazard Reduction Patrols – Mt Riverview

Tue May 29, 2018 - Panorama Hazard Reduction Patrols – Mt Riverview

Mon May 28, 2018 - Panorama Hazard Reduction Patrols – Mt Riverview

Sun May 27, 2018 - Panorama Hazard Reduction – Mt Riverview

Sat May 26, 2018 - Panorama Hazard Reduction – Mt Riverview

Fri May 25, 2018 - Equipment Maintenance Night

Sun May 20, 2018 - Brigade Training – Local Hazard Reduction Preparation

Wed May 16, 2018 - Hazard Reduction Assistance – Mt Solitary

Wed Apr 25, 2018 - Assistance at Glenbrook ANZAC Day march

Sun Apr 22, 2018 - Basic Fire Fighting Course – recruit training

Sat Apr 21, 2018 - Basic Fire Fighting Course – recruit training

Fri Apr 20, 2018 - General Meeting

Sun Apr 15, 2018 - Brigade Training – Hazard Reduction Preparation

Sun Mar 18, 2018 - Brigade Training – Hazard Reduction Preparation

Sat Mar 10, 2018 - Six Ft Track Marathon – aid station support

Sun Feb 18, 2018 - Training – Hazard Reduction preparation

Fri Feb 16, 2018 - General Meeting

Thu Feb 15, 2018 - Fire Call – two crews attended Marge’s Lookout / Mitchell’s Pass fire

Wed Feb 14, 2018 - Standby crew at station for Total Fire Ban day

Mon Jan 29, 2018 - Fire call – Bush alight Rickard Road, Warrimoo

Sun Jan 28, 2018 - Hunter Valley Deployment – Assistance with fires in the region

Tue Jan 23, 2018 - Fire fighting – Day and night shift crews to The Oaks Fire Trail near Woodford Range

Mon Jan 22, 2018 - Fire call – night shift crew to The Oaks Fire Trail near Woodford Range

Sun Jan 21, 2018 - Training

Mon Jan 8, 2018 - Incident Call – Dealt with fire caused by lightning strike in Blue Mountains National Park – Glenbrook.

Tue Dec 26, 2017 - Assistance with Mulgoa/Glenbrook bush fire blacking out.

Mon Dec 25, 2017 - Assistance with Mulgoa/Glenbrook bush fire blacking out.

Sun Dec 24, 2017 - Incident Call – assistance with Mulgoa/Glenbrook bush fire

Sun Dec 17, 2017 - Santa Run

Fri Dec 15, 2017 - General Meeting

Sun Nov 19, 2017 - Training

Tue Oct 24, 2017 - Warrimoo Search and Rescue Support

Fri Oct 20, 2017 - General Meeting

Sun Oct 15, 2017 - Training – Bush Fire Season Readiness Assessments

Sun Sep 24, 2017 - Total Fire Ban – Crew on Standby at Fire Station

Wed Sep 20, 2017 - Incident Call – Legal pile burn Blaxland – callout aborted

Sat Sep 16, 2017 - Get Ready Weekend – Brigade Open Day